Beautiful Ride

The somewhat self-indulgent rantings about the beautiful ride that is my life!

A Little Cup of Happy… February 19, 2011

Filed under: beautiful ride,Family,Home — beautifulride @ 11:43 am
Tags: , , ,

It is Saturday. It is early. And, for the first time in weeks, well…maybe months, I have nothing to do. Ok, that’s a bit of an exaggeration. I always have SOMETHING to do. With four sons, there is always SOMETHING to do…laundry, dishes, cooking, cleaning, driving, breaking up fights…  But, what I mean is I have nothing scheduled for this morning. No grocery delivery at 6 am, no dance classes, no movie shoots, no auditions, no football practice, no meetings, no crisis at work, no out-of-town trips…nothing. What’s a woman to do, with no scheduled activity, no “thing” to rush to, no event to attend? Well, I think I’ll stay right here, seated at the kitchen island, and pour myself another little cup of happy!

Whiling away a Saturday morning with relaxing cup of coffee in hand in one of my favorite treats. The key word being “relaxing”. My family thinks I’m crazy, because during the work week, I set my alarm for much earlier than I need to…all in the hopes of enjoying a “relaxing” cup of coffee, alone in the quiet stillness of the morning, before the responsibilities of  “a day in the life” take hold. And although it is a welcome moment in my everyday life, it is not always as peaceful as it may seem. I watch the clock, careful to make sure that everyone is rising on time to make it to the airport, office, or classroom…the choreographed timing of showers, breakfasts, notes to and from teachers, appointment and activity reminders…having that loom over your cup of coffee can make it slightly less than a warm and friendly experience. But that’s life, and it’s good, and I’m happy to serve in the role of coordinator, planner, schedule keeper…in fact, I think I’m pretty good at it!

But a Saturday…well, that’s a different story. Having to pop out of bed, grab a quick cup of coffee, shower, and begin to drive all over town, delivering kids to this practice and that, running to the store for the items that they have to have for this project or that (which they forgot to tell me the thousand times I was out during the week, and it’s due on Monday!), picking up fresh produce from the grocery store, the dry cleaning, something for dinner, and on and on….well, that gets to be a drag. A Saturday morning should be about taking it slow, staying in your jammies, paging through magazines, reading a great book, listening to great music, and coffee…lots of warm, rich, delicious coffee.

So, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to pour another cup. I’m going to turn up the music to drown out the sound of boys playing video games, put my slippered feet up, and  grab a decorating magazine or a Pottery Barn catalog and dream of renovating my bedroom. The laundry will wait, the dust bunnies will still be there at noon, the grocery store will still be open later. I’ll get to it this afternoon. But this morning off, well, this moment could slip away and not return for quite some time, and it’s such a welcomed gift.  I’m going to enjoy it.  And if you are enjoying a similar moment right now…well, then I’m raising my coffee cup to you!

 

Leave a Reply

