Beautiful Ride

The somewhat self-indulgent rantings about the beautiful ride that is my life!

Why I May Be Lost Without Lost May 23, 2010

Filed under: beautiful ride,Family — beautifulride @ 9:24 pm
Tags: , , ,

Tonight, like millions of other Losties, I will sit on the edge of my seat waiting for all of my questions to be answered. For 6 years I have watched every episode, faithfully and intently, waiting for the mysteries of the island and its inhabitants to be revealed. I have moaned and groaned, laughed and cried, and have been surprised time and time again. The characters have become like old friends who will be missed.  Although action-packed and full of adventure, the show is, at its core, about the characters. Each and every one beautifully flawed. Each and every one looking for redemption. Each and every one seeking the chance to begin again. Like so many classic tales, the characters struggle with the light and the dark that is inside all of us. The show masterfully depicts what happens when we are given a choice between light and dark, and how our choices affect not only our life, but the lives of everyone around us. It shows that we are all connected, in the most unexpected and unforseen ways, and everything we do produces a ripple of change beyond us, like pebbles in a pond.

“Lost” has given me something unexpected and unforeseen too. When I heard about this new show, I wasn’t sure I was going to watch it. I was a busy wife and mom with kids ranging in age from 4 to 13, plus I was taking classes at night, and preparing for an externship. But my oldest son, Zach, really wanted to watch it, and he wanted me to watch it with him. Since he asked, I did. And it was really fun for us. We soon found out that we would be leaving Arizona and moving to New Jersey and this was very difficult for Zach.  He had just turned 14 and this would be his third move in 3 1/2 years. He was unhappy and struggling—with friends, with school, with adolescence—he was lost. But at least once a week, he and I would sit alone, and spend an hour with this island and these people. And it was a chance for us to be together and feel connected. It was a constant for us…a place where we could meet, and be, and share. And that constant led to a trust that allowed me to help him keep his chin above water when he felt like he was drowning in the roughest seas.

We, of course, bought every season on dvd as it was released. The younger boys caught up and by season 4, Max was joining us in real time. By season 5, Aaron and Grant were part of the Tuesday night festivities. And this has been so special to me. One hour, every week, set aside for me and my boys. Something that we have shared, just the 5 of us. Something that we have looked forward to week after week and something that we will remember year after year. This time, this experience, this constant….this is why I will be lost without “Lost.”

 

One Response to “Why I May Be Lost Without Lost”

  1. P.A.W. Says:

    Awwwww, that’s beautiful.


Leave a Reply

